Shane Mosley Record & Stats

Shane Mosley Record & Stats

Last Updated:

In a career spanning 23 years and three months, Shane Mosley fought 61 times with 49 wins, 10 losses, and 1 draw. By his last professional fight on May 28, 2016, Mosley's boxing record stood at 49-10-1 (41 KO wins, 1 KO loss).

Lynwood, California, U.S.
Sep 7, 1971
Feb 11, 1993
41 (68.3%)
175 cm
178 cm
Ape Index
3 cm
Last Fight
d8 v0.1.5-beta 2023-06-10
Shane Mosley's boxing record
Boxing Career of Shane Mosley
View in interactive mode

Featured Opponents

      Shane Mosley (Sugar) is a retired American professional boxer. He was born in Lynwood, California, U.S. on September 7, 1971. Mosley made his professional boxing debut at the age of 21, on February 11, 1993. He is a former three-weight-class world champion. He is 51 years old, and will be turning 52 in two months and 28 days. Mosley is a Hall of Famer.

      Fight Record

      Total Fights61
      KO Wins41
      Total Title Wins6
      Title Defenses11
      Title-Fight KO Wins12
      Losses via KO1
      61May 28, 201644David AvanesyanLossUD
      60Dec 17, 201544Patrick LópezWinTKO10
      59Aug 29, 201543Ricardo MayorgaWinKO6
      58Nov 27, 201342Anthony MundineLossRTD7
      57May 18, 201341Pablo César CanoWinUD
      56May 5, 201240Canelo ÁlvarezLoss *UD
      55May 7, 201139Manny PacquiaoLoss *UD
      54Sep 18, 201039Sergio MoraDrawSD
      53May 1, 201038Floyd Mayweather Jr.LossUD
      52Jan 24, 200937Antonio MargaritoWin *TKO9
      51Sep 27, 200837Ricardo MayorgaWinTKO12
      50Nov 10, 200736Miguel CottoLoss *UD
      49Feb 10, 200735Luis CollazoWinUD
      48Jul 15, 200634Fernando VargasWinTKO6
      47Feb 25, 200634Fernando VargasWinTKO10
      46Sep 17, 200534José Luis CruzWinUD
      45Apr 23, 200533David EstradaWinUD
      44Nov 20, 200433Winky WrightLoss *MD
      43Mar 13, 200432Winky WrightLoss *UD
      42Sep 13, 200332Oscar De La HoyaWin *UD
      41Feb 8, 200331Raúl MárquezNCNC
      40Jul 20, 200230Vernon ForrestLoss *UD
      39Jan 26, 200230Vernon ForrestLoss *UD
      38Jul 21, 200129Adrian StoneWin *TKO3
      37Mar 10, 200129Shannan TaylorWin *RTD6
      36Nov 4, 200029Antonio DíazWin *TKO6
      35Jun 17, 200028Oscar De La HoyaWin *SD
      34Jan 22, 200028Willy WiseWinTKO3
      33Sep 25, 199928Wilfredo RiveraWinKO10
      32Apr 17, 199927John BrownWin *TKO8
      31Jan 9, 199927Golden JohnsonWin *KO7
      30Nov 14, 199827Jesse James LeijaWin *RTD9
      29Sep 22, 199827Eduardo MoralesWin *TKO5
      28Jun 27, 199826Wilfredo RuizWin *KO5
      27May 9, 199826John John MolinaWin *TKO8
      26Feb 6, 199826Demetrio CeballosWin *TKO8
      25Nov 25, 199726Manuel GomezWin *KO11
      24Aug 2, 199725Philip HolidayWin *UD
      23Apr 9, 199725Michael SmithWinKO4
      22Feb 6, 199725Elias QuirozWinKO6
      21Dec 21, 199625Joseph MurrayWinTKO3
      20Nov 1, 199625Ramon FelixWinTKO1
      19Jan 23, 199624Mike BryanWinKO1
      18Jul 2, 199523Mauricio AcevesWinKO4
      17Apr 12, 199523Raul HernandezWinKO2
      16Nov 12, 199423Jose Luis MadridWinRTD4
      15Sep 9, 199423Louis RamirezWinTKO10
      14Aug 6, 199422Mauro GutierrezWinTKO9
      13Jul 24, 199422Narciso ValenzuelaWinTKO5
      12Jun 30, 199422John BryantWinKO8
      11Apr 29, 199422Lorenzo GarciaWinTKO3
      10Mar 26, 199422Oscar LopezWinPTS
      9Feb 4, 199422Lorenzo GarciaWinKO5
      8Jan 20, 199422Francisco RodriguezWinKO2
      7Dec 6, 199322Paulino GonzalezWinKO2
      6Oct 25, 199322Juan Manuel ArandaWinKO2
      5Sep 27, 199322Miguel PenaWinKO2
      4Aug 25, 199321Roberto UriasWinKO5
      3Jul 21, 199321Pey CastilloWinKO1
      2Apr 24, 199321Arnulfo VillaWinKO1
      1Feb 11, 199321Greg PuenteWinKO5

      * World-title fight

      World Titles

      Mosley was a three-weight-division world champion. He has held six world titles, one of which was a vacant title win, and the rest five were lineal championship wins.

      Weight DivisionWorld Titles Held
      Super-welterweightWBA, WBC, The Ring
      WelterweightWBA, WBC


      Shane Mosley is 175 cm tall (5' 8.90") with a reach of 178 cm (5' 10.08"). He fights out of the orthodox stance and presents an ape-index of 3 cm (1.18").

      Mosley has a 68.3% KO rate. Of his total 41 KO wins, 16 were in the early rounds, 16 in the mid rounds, and nine in the later rounds. He has four first-round KO wins.

      Career Summary

      Shane Mosley's professional boxing career spanned more than 23 years — from 1993 to 2016.

      Mosley made his professional boxing debut against Greg Puente at the age of 21 on February 11, 1993, defeating Puente via 5th round KO. He went on to win 37 more consecutive fights after the debut, which included 34 wins via stoppage.

      Mosley had his first world title fight at the age of 25 on August 2, 1997 after 23 professional fights, against Philip Holiday for the lightweight IBF title. He defeated Holiday via 12 round unanimous decision to become the lightweight champion of the world.

      He was a one-time unified super-welterweight world champion, and has won six world titles at three weight classes. For all the details about Mosley's world title wins and defenses refer to "Shane Mosley World Titles".

      Some of Mosley's best fights and notable victories include wins over Hall-of-Famer Oscar De La Hoya, Antonio Margarito, John John Molina, Shannan Taylor, and Fernando Vargas.

      Mosley had a total of 10 losses in his professional boxing career.

      His last professional fight was a non-title bout against Russian boxer David Avanesyan on May 28, 2016. Mosley lost the fight via 12 round unanimous decision. It's been 7 years and 13 days since this fight.

      Career Highlights

      Mosley fought a total of 61 times during his professional career, which includes 22 world-title fights at three weight divisions — super-welterweight, welterweight, and lightweight. He was among the very best of his generation and put on some incredible performances in his fights. These eight fights are the highlight of his career.

      • August 2, 1997: Mosley wins his first world title by defeating Philip Holiday via 12 round unanimous decision. He is now the IBF lightweight world champion.

      • May 9, 1998: Mosley successfully defends the IBF lightweight title against John John Molina, winning the fight via 8th round TKO.

      • June 17, 2000: Mosley wins the WBC welterweight title from Oscar De La Hoya, by beating De La Hoya via 12 round split-decision.

      • September 13, 2003: Mosley becomes a unified super-welterweight world champion by beating Oscar De La Hoya via 12 round unanimous decision. He now holds the WBA (Super), WBC, and The Ring super-welterweight world-champion belts.

      • February 25, 2006: Shane Mosley beats Fernando Vargas via 10th round TKO.

      • November 10, 2007: Shane Mosley loses to Miguel Cotto via 12 round unanimous decision. He was fighting for the WBA welterweight title.

      • January 24, 2009: Mosley wins the WBA (Super) welterweight title from Antonio Margarito, by beating Margarito via 9th round TKO.

      • May 7, 2011: Shane Mosley loses to Manny Pacquiao via 12 round unanimous decision. He was fighting for the WBO welterweight title.


      Ape Index
      Lay Off
      Win Streak
      Career Score