Always display infographic in interactive mode
What is interactive mode infographic?

The infographic you see by default is an image. On the interactive infographic, you can mouseover, click, tap etc. on the chart to see more details about the fights. The browser's localStorage will be used to store your preference.

Shannon Briggs Record

Total Fights68
Title Wins1
Title Defenses0
Title-Fight KOs1
KO Wins53
KO Losses2
Shannon Briggs Record & Stats
Shannon Briggs' Record
Shannon Briggs' boxing record and career infographic

      Featured Opponents

      What is Shannon Briggs' boxing record?

      In a professional boxing career spanning 23 years and nine months, Shannon Briggs fought 68 times with 60 wins, 6 losses, and 1 draw.

      Briggs retired from professional boxing with a record of 60-6-1, which included one heavyweight world-title win. He had a 79.1% knockouts-to-fights ratio with 53 of his total 68 fights being knockout wins, one of which was in a title fight. Briggs suffered two knockout losses in his career, one of which was against Lennox Lewis in a heavyweight title fight.

      His last fight was a 1st round KO victory over Emilio Zarate on May 21, 2016.

      Some of Briggs' best fights and notable victories include wins over Hall-of-Famer George Foreman, Ray Mercer, Siarhei Liakhovich, Rob Calloway, Michael Marrone, Rafael Pedro, and Dominique Alexander.

      68May 21, 201644Emilio ZarateWinKO1
      67Sep 5, 201543Michael MarroneWinKO2
      66Mar 27, 201543Zoltan PetranyiWinKO1
      65Nov 1, 201442Richard CarmackWinKO1
      64Aug 23, 201442Cory PhelpsWinTKO1
      63Jun 28, 201442Raphael Zumbano LoveWinUD
      62May 17, 201442Matthew GreerWinTKO1
      61Apr 19, 201442Francisco MirelesWinKO1
      60Apr 11, 201442Maurenzo SmithWinKO1
      59Oct 16, 201038Vitali KlitschkoLoss *UD
      58May 28, 201038Rob CallowayWinTKO1
      57May 21, 201038Dominique AlexanderWinTKO1
      56Apr 13, 201038Rafael PedroWinKO1
      55Dec 3, 200937Marcus McGeeNCKO1
      54Jun 2, 200735Sultan IbragimovLoss *UD
      53Nov 4, 200634Siarhei LiakhovichWin *TKO12
      52May 24, 200634Chris KovalWinRTD3
      51Mar 18, 200634Dicky RyanWinKO4
      50Dec 10, 200534Luciano ZolyoneWinKO1
      49Nov 26, 200533Brian ScottWinKO1
      48Aug 26, 200533Ray MercerWinKO7
      47Jun 10, 200533Abraham OkineWinTKO3
      46Mar 3, 200533Demetrice KingWinTKO2
      45Mar 6, 200432Jeff PeguesWinTKO1
      44Aug 28, 200331Wade LewisWinTKO3
      43Jul 19, 200331John SargentWinTKO1
      42Mar 27, 200331Marvin HillWinTKO1
      41Apr 27, 200230Jameel McClineLossUD
      40Dec 1, 200129Reynaldo MinusWinKO1
      39Oct 19, 200129Jason WallerWinTKO1
      38Apr 7, 200129Russell ChasteenWinKO1
      37Nov 2, 200028Eric CurryWinKO1
      36Apr 27, 200028Sedreck FieldsLossMD
      35Feb 24, 200028Warren WilliamsWinTKO3
      34Aug 7, 199927Francois BothaDrawMD
      33Dec 8, 199827Marcus RhodeWinTKO1
      32Mar 28, 199826Lennox LewisLoss *TKO5
      31Nov 22, 199725George ForemanWinMD
      30Jun 24, 199725Jorge ValdesWinRTD9
      29Apr 15, 199725Melton BowenWinTKO1
      28Feb 21, 199725Eric FrenchWinTKO2
      27Sep 25, 199624Tim RayWinKO1
      26Mar 15, 199624Darroll WilsonLossTKO3
      25Dec 15, 199524Calvin JonesWinTKO1
      24Sep 22, 199523Sherman GriffinWinTKO1
      23Aug 25, 199523Will HintonWinTKO1
      22Mar 24, 199523Marion WilsonWinPTS
      21Jan 13, 199523Craig PayneWinUD
      20Oct 21, 199422Mike FaulknerWinKO2
      19Aug 26, 199422Mark YoungWinTKO8
      18Aug 4, 199422Exum SpeightWinTKO1
      17Mar 12, 199422Jimmy EllisWinTKO1
      16Feb 20, 199422Mike FaulknerWinKO6
      15Dec 9, 199322Danny WoffordWinUD
      14Nov 10, 199321Tim NobleWinTKO3
      13Jul 10, 199321Danny BlakeWinPTS
      12May 22, 199321Bruce JohnsonWinTKO1
      11Mar 25, 199321Ron GulletteWinTKO1
      10Dec 9, 199221Robert Pagan PerezWinKO1
      9Dec 4, 199221Rocky BentleyWinPTS
      8Nov 21, 199220Rick HoneycuttWinTKO1
      7Nov 13, 199220Tony SimpsonWinTKO1
      6Oct 29, 199220Donnie PeneltonWinKO1
      5Oct 9, 199220Juan QuintanaWinTKO3
      4Sep 19, 199220Greg SantosWinKO1
      3Aug 28, 199220Ed CarlsonWinKO1
      2Aug 6, 199220Cedric SimsWinKO1
      1Jul 24, 199220John Basil JacksonWinKO1

      * World-title fight

      Boxing career

      Shannon Briggs (The Cannon) is a 52-year old retired American professional boxer. He was born in Brooklyn, New York City, New York, U.S. on December 4, 1971. He is a former heavyweight world champion. His professional boxing career spanned more than 23 years — from 1992 to 2016.

      Briggs made his professional boxing debut against John Basil Jackson at the age of 20 on July 24, 1992, defeating Jackson via 1st round KO. He went on to win 24 more consecutive fights after the debut, which included 19 wins via stoppage.

      He had his first world title fight at the age of 26 on March 28, 1998 after 31 professional fights, against Lennox Lewis for the WBC title. He lost to Lewis via 5th round TKO.

      Briggs has won one world title at heavyweight. For all the details about Briggs' world title wins and defenses refer to the "Championships" section below.

      Briggs had a total of six losses in his professional boxing career.

      His last professional fight was a non-title bout against Emilio Zarate on May 21, 2016. Briggs won the fight via 1st round KO. It's been 8 years and 29 days since this fight.


      Briggs had a total of four world-title fights, which includes winning one world title and zero successful title defenses. He won one of these fights and lost three.

      Title Wins

      Shannon Briggs fought for a heavyweight world title in three fights and won once, which came via way of stoppage. He won one heavyweight belt.

      DateOpponentDivisionTitles WonMethod
      Nov 4, 2006Siarhei LiakhovichHeavyweightWBOTKO

      Title Losses

      Shannon Briggs lost one world-title defense fight, and lost one title in the fight.

      DateOpponentDivisionTitles LostMethod
      Jun 2, 2007Sultan IbragimovHeavyweightWBOUD


      Briggs fought a total of 68 times during his professional career, which includes 4 world-title fights at the heavyweight division. These four fights are the highlight of his career.

      • November 22, 1997: Shannon Briggs puts on the first remarkable performance of his career, defeating George Foreman via 12th round majority decision.

      • March 28, 1998: In his first world-title fight, Shannon Briggs loses to Lennox Lewis via 5th round TKO. He was fighting for the WBC heavyweight title.

      • August 26, 2005: Shannon Briggs beats Ray Mercer via 7th round KO.

      • November 4, 2006: Briggs wins the WBO heavyweight title from Siarhei Liakhovich, by beating Liakhovich via 12th round TKO.


      Ape Index
      Win Streak
      Career Score